• About
  • Batterymates
  • Blog Disclosure Policy
  • Contact Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • November 18th, 2016

    November 18, 2016:
    Justin Verlander, Max Scherzer Awarded
    BBBA’s Walter Perry Johnson Award

    Posted by Christine E. at 2:09 pm in Baseball,Old Friends,Red Sox No Comments

    baseballbloggersalliance-thumb-200x155-12545-8.pngThe bloggers of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance have chosen the Detroit Tigers’ Justin Verlander and the Washington Nationals’ Max Scherzer as the best pitchers of the 2016 MLB regular season.

    In balloting, Mr. Verlander received 11 first place votes and 130 points overall, highest among all candidates in both leagues. Finishing a close second with 125 points and nine first place votes was the Cleveland Indians’ Corey Kluber. The Boston Red Sox’ Rick Porcello finished third with 110 points and nine first place ballots. Also earning the top spot on BBA ballots were the Chicago White Sox’ Chris Sale and the Toronto Blue Jays’ Aaron Sanchez. The top five American League pitchers finished as follows:

    Justin Verlander, 130 points (11 1st place votes)
    Corey Kluber, 125 (9)
    Rick Porcello, 110 (9)
    Chris Sale, 46 (1)
    Aaron Sanchez, 44 (4)

    In the National League, Mr. Scherzer received 115 points and 10 first place votes. The Nats’ ace narrowly beat the Chicago Cubs’ Kyle Hendricks who finished second with 105 points and one more first place vote than Scherzer. Also receiving first place votes were the New York Mets’ Noah Syndergaard, the Cubs’ Jon Lester, the San Francisco Giants’ Madison Bumgarner, the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw, and late Miami Marlins ace Jose Fernandez. The top five NL pitchers finished as follows:

    Max Scherzer, 115 (10)
    Kyle Hendricks, 105 (11)
    Noah Syndergaard, 63 (1)
    Jon Lester, 58 (2)
    Jose Fernandez, 44 (3)

    In total, 28 MLB pitchers received a vote in the 2016 Walter Johnson Award vote. Honorable mention (with point totals) goes to:

    American League:  Andrew Miller (25), Masahiro Tanaka (19), J.A. Happ (11), Jose Quintana (11), David Price (6), Zach Britton (6), Francisco Rodriguez (3), R.A. Dickey (2), Cole Hamels (1)

    National League:  Madison Bumgarner (41), Clayton Kershaw (34), Jake Arrieta (24), Johnny Cueto (21), Tanner Roark (4), Kenley Jansen (3), Jeurys Familia (2), Julio Teheran (2), Bartolo Colon (1)

    Stay tuned the rest of the week for the winners of the Goose Gossage (best relievers), Willie Mays (best rookies) and Connie Mack (best managers) awards.

    Leave a Reply