• About
  • Batterymates
  • Blog Disclosure Policy
  • Contact Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • October 24th, 2014

    October 24, 2014: Trout Wins Third Straight Stan Musial Award

    Posted by Christine E. at 7:40 pm in Baseball,BBBA,Red Sox No Comments

    Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout swept the balloting on his way to hisBaseballBloggersAlliance-thumb-200x155-12545 third successive Stan Musial Award, as selected by members of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance (BBA). Trout, who had arguably his worst full season in the big leagues, still posted a 7.9 bWAR on his way to leading the Angels to their first playoff appearance since he became part of the team.

    Trout won in a rout, capturing all 15 first place votes and beating out his closest competition, Cleveland outfielder Michael Brantley, by 90 points. Only Trout and Brantley were able to cross the 100-point plateau.

    In the National League, fresh off winning the Walter Johnson Award (again), Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers took home the Stan Musial hardware as well. Kershaw was the only player in the big leagues to outperform Trout according to bWAR, coming in with an even 8.0.

    Kershaw garnered 10 of the possible 14 first place votes and beat out the runner-up, 2013 Musial winner Andrew McCutchen, by 27 points.

    The complete voting results are as follows (first place votes in parenthesis):

    American League:

    Mike Trout, Los Angeles (15) 195

    Michael Brantley, Cleveland 105

    Jose Bautista, Toronto 74

    Corey Kluber, Cleveland 67

    Victor Martinez, Detroit 66

    Josh Donaldson, Oakland 65

    Jose Abreu, Chicago 51

    Felix Hernandez, Seattle 47

    Alex Gordon, Kansas City 45

    Jose Altuve, Houston 44

    Robinson Cano, Seattle 35

    Adrian Beltre, Texas 29

    Ian Kinsler, Detroit 12

    Nelson Cruz, Baltimore 9

    Miguel Cabrera, Detroit 8

    Adam Jones, Baltimore 7

    David Price, Tampa Bay/Detroit 4

    Phil Hughes, Minnesota 3

    Brian Dozier, Minnesota 2

    Jon Lester, Boston/Oakland 2

    National League:

    Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles (10) 164

    Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh (4) 137

    Giancarlo Stanton, Miami 114

    Jonathan Lucroy, Milwaukee 89

    Anthony Rendon, Washington 72

    Buster Posey, San Francisco 67

    Anthony Rizzo, Chicago 36

    Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles 25

    Johnny Cueto, Cincinnati 16

    Adam Wainwright, St. Louis 15

    Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee 13

    Jhonny Peralta, St. Louis 13

    Jason Heyward, Atlanta 11

    Josh Harrison, Pittsburgh 9

    Jayson Werth, Washington 9

    Adrian Gonzalez, Los Angeles 8

    Justin Morneau, Colorado 6

    Justin Upton, Atlanta 4

    Cole Hamels, Philadelphia 2

    Todd Frazier, Cincinnati 1

    Hunter Pence, San Francisco 1

    The Baseball Bloggers Alliance was formed in the fall of 2009 to encourage cooperation and collaboration between baseball bloggers of all major league teams as well as those that follow baseball more generally. As of this writing, the organization consists of 215 blogs spanning most of the 30 major league squads as well as general baseball writing.

    The BBA is organized under a similar structure as the Baseball Writers of America, where blogs that follow the same team are combined into chapters and only two votes from the chapter on an award are counted. The blog chapters that are focused on general baseball were allowed two votes as well, which they could use both on the same league or split between the two leagues.

    Chapters generally followed one of two methods when casting their ballot. Either representatives of the chapter were given the ballots for voting or a “group ballot” was posted, accounting for both of their votes.

    Notably, though the Alliance’s awards come out well before their official counterparts, the BBA selections have matched those of the Baseball Writers of America in many instances over the past five years. This, of course, does not include the Goose Gossage Award that is exclusive to the BBA.

    Ballots are posted on the respective blogs and for this award, were tabulated on a 13-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 point scale for first through tenth place. In the interest of transparency, links to the ballots are listed on the official site.

    Prior Winners:

    2013: Mike Trout, Los Angeles; Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh

    2012: Mike Trout, Los Angeles; Buster Posey, San Francisco

    2011: Jose Bautista, Toronto; Matt Kemp, Los Angeles

    2010: Josh Hamilton, Texas; Joey Votto, Cincinnati

    2009: Joe Mauer, Minnesota; Albert Pujols, St. Louis

    The official website of the BBA is located here. The BBA can be found on Twitter by the handle @baseballblogs and by the hashmark #bbba. For more information, contact Daniel Shoptaw at baseballbloggersalliance@gmail.com.

    Leave a Reply