• About
  • Batterymates
  • Blog Disclosure Policy
  • Contact Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • November 8th, 2013

    November 8, 2013: Final BBA Award for 2013:
    The Stan Musial Award

    Posted by Christine E. at 4:13 pm in Baseball,BBBA Comments (2)

    baseballbloggersallianceAs the final award given annually by the Baseball Bloggers Alliance (BBA), the Stan Musial Award is given to the premier player in each league.

    The American League award was once again highly debated between the league’s two premier players.

    Mike Trout – The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: The Angels’ outfielder would garner his second-consecutive Musial Award by holding off the Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera once again in 2013. His .323 batting average, 27 home runs, 97 runs batted in, and league leading 109 runs and 110 walks were enough to convince the Alliance that he deserved the award once again.

    Trout earned 65% of the Alliance vote while Cabrera would take the other 35%, marking the second straight year that the two players would receive the only votes.

    National League: Andrew McCutchen – The Pittsburgh Pirates: The Pirates phenomenal season comes to fruition for one of the team’s most consistent stars. McCutchen was the team’s leader on and off the field and the Alliance recognized his importance to the great run the Pirates produced. He would hit .317 with 21 home runs, 84 runs batted in, 97 runs, 38 doubles and 27 stolen bases for the Bucs.

    Cutch received 69% of the BBA vote to earn his first Musial award.

    Previous Stan Musial Award Winners:
    2012: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim; Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants
    2011: Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays; Matt Kemp, Los Angeles Dodgers
    2010: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers; Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds
    2009: Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins; Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals

    The Baseball Bloggers Alliance was formed in the fall of 2009 to encourage cooperation and collaboration between baseball bloggers of all major league teams as well as those that follow baseball more generally.

    2 Responses to “November 8, 2013: Final BBA Award for 2013:
    The Stan Musial Award”

    1. divorce lawyer romford says:

      Link exchange is nothing else but it is just placing the other person’s webpage link on your page at
      suitable place and other person will also do same
      for you.

    2. family lawyer havering says:

      I know this website provides quality dependent articles and additional material, is there any other
      site which presents these data in quality?

    Leave a Reply