• About
  • Batterymates
  • Blog Disclosure Policy
  • Contact Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • November 6th, 2013

    November 6, 2013: Kimbrel Garners 3rd Consecutive Goose Gossage Award

    Posted by Christine E. at 6:34 pm in Baseball,BBBA,Red Sox No Comments

    baseballbloggersallianceHaving announced the Connie Mack and Willie Mays awards, given to the top manager and top rookie in each league, the Baseball Bloggers Alliance (BBA) now reveals the 2013 winners of the Goose Gossage Award.

    The Goose Gossage Award honors the best relief pitchers in Major League Baseball. The award is the only award given by the BBA to have been awarded to the same player in consecutive years. This year, that player adds a third consecutive award to his virtual trophy case.

    National League: Craig Kimbrel – The Atlanta Braves: In 2011, Atlanta Braves closer Craig Kimbrel was awarded both the Goose Gossage and Willie Mays awards. Last season, Kimbrel received 87% of the vote to claim his second consecutive award as the National League’s premier relief pitcher. Kimbrel received an astonishing 90% of the vote from the Alliance to claim his third straight Goose Gossage Award. He would lead the National League in saves again this year, reaching the magical mark of 50 saves.

    American League: Koji Uehara – The Boston Red Sox: Uehara joined the Red Sox this season and became one of the most polarizing figures on the team. His 21 saves were a key part of the Red Sox success this year and his continued success throughout the postseason made him a star. His 52% of the BBA vote was good enough to hold off Greg Holland of the Kansas City Royals, who garnered 36% of the BBA support for his fine season.

    Previous Goose Gossage Award Winners:
    2012: Fernando Rodney, Tampa Bay Rays; Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves
    2011: Jose Valverde, Detroit Tigers; Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves
    2010: Rafael Soriano, Tampa Bay Rays; Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants

    The Baseball Bloggers Alliance was formed in the fall of 2009 to encourage cooperation and collaboration between baseball bloggers of all major league teams as well as those that follow baseball more generally.

    Leave a Reply