• About
  • Batterymates
  • Blog Disclosure Policy
  • Contact Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • November 6th, 2012

    November 6, 2012: BBA Announces
    Stan Musial Award Winners For 2012

    Posted by Christine E. at 8:20 pm in Baseball,BBBA No Comments

    The Baseball Bloggers Alliance’s (BBA) final award of 2012, the Stan Musial Award, is given every year to the premier player in each league.

    In what proved to be the easier of the two decisions, the Alliance pulled together to award Buster Posey for his stellar season leading the San Francisco Giants to an eventual world BaseballBloggersAlliancechampionship. Posey had an amazing season for any player, let alone a catcher. Posey’s hard fought season earned him a batting title, an impressive slashline (.336/.408/.549), 24 home runs and 103 runs batted in. His impressive numbers earned him 70% of the BBA vote and the acknowledgment as the premier player in the National League.

    The American League vote was a bit more of a debate and a fairly close one. As the blogs weighed in, only two players received votes. The vote split leaving Mike Trout of the Angels with a decisive 62% of the vote, edging out the Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera. Mike Trout becomes the first player to be acknowledged by the BBA with the Stan Musial and Willie Mays Awards in the same season. As impressive as Miguel Cabrera was winning the triple crown, the bloggers of the BBA were quick to point out how impressive Trout’s all around numbers were.

    Previous Stan Musial Award Winners
    Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jay; Matt Kemp, Los Angeles Dodgers
    2010: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers; Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds
    2009: Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins; Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals

    The Baseball Bloggers Alliance was formed in the fall of 2009 to encourage cooperation and collaboration between baseball bloggers of all major league teams as well as those that follow baseball more generally. As of this writing, the organization consists of 232 blogs spanning all 30 major league squads as well as general baseball writing.

    The BBA is organized under a similar structure as the Baseball Writers of America, where blogs that follow the same team are combined into “chapters” and only two votes from the chapter on an award are counted. The blog chapters that are focused on general baseball were allowed two votes as well, which they could use both on the same league or split between the two leagues.

    Leave a Reply