• About
  • Batterymates
  • Blog Disclosure Policy
  • Contact Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • Archive for October, 2010

    October 28, 2010: Hamilton, Votto Take Home Stan Musial Award

    The Baseball Bloggers Alliance concluded their award season today by naming the best player in each league for 2010.  When all the votes were tallied, two men were  comfortably ahead. Texas outfielder Josh Hamilton, who hit 32 home runs and fashioned an OPS of  1.044 while leading the Rangers into the playoffs, won the award […]

    October 25, 2010: Halladay, Hernandez Overwelming Winners of Walter Johnson Award…

    2010 was often referred to as “the year of the pitcher.”  However, not all pitchers are created equal. The Baseball Bloggers Alliance announced today that Philadelphia’s Roy Halladay was the unanimous selection for the National League Walter Johnson Award, receiving all nineteen first place votes.  In the American League, Seattle’s Felix Hernandez was almost as […]

    October 22, 2010:
    BBA Boston Chapter selects “King Felix”
    their Walter Johnson Award Selection

    The penultimate BBA Award for the 2010 postseason, the Walter Johnson Award, is given to the best pitcher in each league, and was an easy choice for the Boston Chapter, Seattle’s ace, Hernandez garnered 4 out of the 5 1st place votes among those voting for a total of 24 points. Tampa Bay’s Ace, David […]

    October 21, 2010:
    Soriano, Wilson Dominate
    Goose Gossage Award Voting.

    For an inaugural vote, it wasn’t much of a contest. Tampa Bay closer Rafael Soriano and San Francisco closer Brian Wilson handily won the Baseball Blogger Alliance’s first-ever Goose Gossage Award, handed out to the best reliever in each league. Soriano and Wilson, besides leading their teams to the postseason, posted numbers that well-distanced themselves […]

    October 19, 2010:
    BBA Boston Chapter selects Joaquin Benoit their Goose Gossage Award Selection

    The 3rd BBA Award of the postseason, the Goose Gossage Award, which is given to the best relief pitcher in each league, was a bit more of a challenge for the Boston Chapter–we actually had to vote a 2nd time to break the 2 ties we had in our 1st round of voting… After much […]

    October 19, 2010:
    Posey, Feliz Win Two-Man Races
    For Willie Mays Award…

    The battle for the Willie Mays Award, given by the Baseball Bloggers Alliance to the top rookie in each division, turned out to be a two-man affair in both leagues, with Texas Rangers closer Neftali Feliz and San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey finishing solidly ahead of their closest competition, Detroit Tigers outfielder Austin Jackson and […]

    Subscribe to Boston Red Thoughts