• About
  • Batterymates
  • Blog Disclosure Policy
  • Contact Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • September 24th, 2010

    September 24, 2010:
    Baseball Bloggers Alliance Announces
    New Award Names

    Posted by Christine E. at 11:36 am in Baseball,BBBA Comment (1)

    Changes reflect appreciation for history of the game…

    The Baseball Bloggers Alliance (BBA) recently announced the renaming of their annual postseason awards to comply with the wishes of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA), thereby avoiding confusion between the two organizations. This allowed the BBA an opportunity to recognize some of the legendary greats of the game, naming their highest honors after them.

    “Earlier in the year, the BBA reached an agreement with former Yankee reliever Goose Gossage to name our newest award, recognizing the best relief pitcher in each league, after him,” said Daniel Shoptaw, founder and president of the Alliance. “It only seemed fitting, then, that we rename the rest of our awards after other legends of the game.”

    The five awards are given to a player in each league: The Connie Mack Award, given to the top manager; the Willie Mays Award, for the top rookie; the Goose Gossage award, mentioned above; the Walter Johnson Award, which would be analogous to the BBWAA’s Cy Young Award; and the Stan Musial Award, awarded to the most valuable player in each league.

    According to Shoptaw, “These names are synonymous with quality, achievement, and dedication. These names have not only stood the test of time, but have been strengthened by it.”

    The schedule for the announcement of these awards is as follows:

    Connie Mack Award: October 14
    Willie Mays Award: October 18
    Goose Gossage Award: October 21
    Walter Johnson Award: October 25
    Stan Musial Award:
    October 28

    The Baseball Bloggers Alliance was founded in 2009 and numbers 222 blogs covering all major league teams and various other aspects of baseball, as well as blogs and sites that are affiliated as Friends of the BBA. The official website of the BBA is located here. The BBA can be found on Twitter by the handle @baseballblogs and by the hashmark #bbba. Members of the BBA may be heard at Blog Talk Radio every Tuesday night with their call-in show, BBA Baseball Talk, which may also be downloaded as a podcast from iTunes.

    One Response to “September 24, 2010:
    Baseball Bloggers Alliance Announces
    New Award Names”

    1. Landwirtschafts Simulator 2009 Mods download says:

      Hello, your website is great. The articles are really great, but sorry i don’t like your website theme, maybe you find better wp themes when you search on yahoo for “the best wordpress themes”.

    Leave a Reply